Murrieta Domestic Violence Lawyer
In the state of California it is illegal to commit an assault or battery
against any member of a person's family or a cohabitant. This includes
fiancé, spouse, partner, family member or anyone that you may be
romantically involved with. If a child is a witness or a victim of the
crime, it could be considered a different and equally serious crime, namely
child abuse. If you have been arrested for a domestic violence crime,
you have rights. Many times, people who are completely innocent are framed
for domestic violence out of a jealous act or for personal benefits.
If you were accused of a domestic violence crime and feel that you are
wrongly charged, we understand. Law enforcement officials need very little
evidence to arrest someone on accounts of domestic violence. Police will
arrest an individual if there is something as minor as a bruise or small
swelling and if the victim gives a statement of violence. Often times,
accused parties act in self-defense or what appears to be a domestic battery
case could have been a complete accident.
What Penalties Could I Face?
Under California Penal Code 243(e)(1) or 273.5, domestic violence can be
charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, in the prosecutor's discretion.
In addition, the prosecutor can add charges of
battery, in the appropriate circumstances. If convicted, all charges require the
successful completion of 52 weeks of counseling, as well as probation,
community service and the issuance of restraining orders. In addition,
misdemeanors can be punished with up to 12 months in jail and large fines.
Felony charges can land you up four years in prison and large fines.
How Can We Help?
If you or someone you love has been charged with a domestic violence crime,
you still have rights. Protecting your freedoms, especially when you have
been wrongfully accused, is highly important. Hiring a criminal defense
lawyer is your best bet to guaranteeing the most optimal outcome for your case.
Our office provides a free consultation directly with Nic Cocis. During
the consultation, you are able to discuss the details surrounding your
arrest. You will learn how we can help and what to expect throughout the
Contact Murrieta criminal defense lawyer, Nic Cocis, by calling 951-666-2600. Our office is located near the Southwest
Justice Center in Murrieta, California. We represent individuals in Temecula,
Murrieta, Menifee, Wildomar, Lake Elsinore, Hemet, Banning, Corona and
Riverside areas. Spanish and Romanian language services are available